College Hockey

For any college sports discussion not based in Kingston
TruePoint
Frank Keaney

College Hockey

Unread post by TruePoint »

i was just flipping through the channels and saw PC is playing BU for hockey championship??? Did you guys know about this? I knew PC has a hockey team but I didn't realize they are good.

I'm glad they are playing BU. I have a degree from BU so I feel like it is totally legit for me to root for them. Go Terriers!
0 x
"If you build it, they will come." --Us, circa 2011
ramster
Frank Keaney

Re: College Hockey

Unread post by ramster »

It's been a huge story in Rhode Island - PC going to the Four. Now tonight is the NCAA Championship in Boston.
0 x
TruePoint
Frank Keaney

So like I said....I know nothing about hockey, especially college hockey. But how many NHL guys play college hockey? Like, will PC have NHL players like a national champion in football, basketball or baseball? Or is this like a club-sport level thing?
0 x
rodfromcranston
Frank Keaney

Unread post by rodfromcranston »

College hockey is an odd sport, in that some schools that don't
usually come to mind, often win the whole thing.
North Dakota, Lake Superior State, Maine twice, Minnesota-Duluth,
Yale, and Union, to name a few.
PLENTY of NHL players come from the college ranks. It's not a club sport thing,
and I think you know that, but are playing Mickey The Dunce, for some reason.
Congrats to PC. They won a well deserved game tonight.
0 x
< Arthur is my spirit animal.
twisted3829
Carlton Owens

Unread post by twisted3829 »

BU has the #1 or #2 pick in the NHL draft, Gilies the PC goalie was also a draft pick of Calgary, it's not a club level thing
0 x
NOT IN OUR HOUSE
TruePoint
Frank Keaney

I thought most NHL players came from the Junior Hockey in Canada. I thought maybe hockey was like soccer where the best guys don't play in college.

Also, don't overestimate my hockey knowledge. I can't name more than three or four NHL players that don't play in Boston.
0 x